You are here

Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in menu_set_active_trail() (line 2396 of /var/www/html/includes/

2016 ISCRAM Board Elections Information


For questions, email the 2016 Election Co-Chairs, Kenny Meesters and Susanne Jul.


There are 4 seats open on the 2016-2018 ISCRAM Board of Directors. This will result in a Board of 8 members. Note that there will no longer be seats reserved for Practitioner representatives. The ISCRAM Board is developing an alternative strategy for ensuring a Practitioner voice in Association governance, however, Practitioners wishing to join the Board of Directors are strongly encouraged to stand for general election.

The 2016 election schedule is as follows:

Sun April 1

Declaration of candidacy submissions open HERE

Sat Apr 23

Deadline for declaration of candidacy

Sun May 8

Electronic voting open [Link available soon]. All active members receive voter ID and voting instructions by email.

Sat May 21

Deadline for electronic voting

Tue May 24

General Assembly [Link available soon]: On-site voting

For further information on the 2016 Elections, please email the Election Chairs, Susanne Jul and Kenny Meesters.


ISCRAM governance and elections procedures are controlled by two documents:

  1. The ISCRAM Association Constitution defines Board composition. This is a legally binding document that can only be modified by membership vote, and subsequent acceptance by Belgian authorities.

  2. The ISCRAM Bylaws defines election procedures. This is an internally binding self-governance document that can only be modified by membership vote.

Board Composition

Under the Association Constitution, ISCRAM is governed by an elected Board of Directors. The Board has legal and fiduciary responsibility for Association business. As a matter of practice, it also oversees the running of ISCRAM operations, including recruiting and supporting annual conference organizers. Directors donate their time, but, under terms of the constitution, can be reimbursed for  expenses incurred. However, directors frequently offset expenses as part of their research or business budgets, in recognition of the Association’s non-profit status.

The constitution dictates that the Board must have 4-10 members, and at least 1/3 of the seats must be opened for election every year. Within those constraints, the current Board determines the size of the Board for the coming year as part of the election process. The term of service is 2 years. An individual may serve for at most 3 consecutive terms.

Election Procedures

In accordance with the Association Bylaws, Board members are elected individually by popular vote among the membership. Election is by simple plurality, that is, the first N (number of open seats) individuals as ranked by number of votes are elected. In case of a tie, the election is decided in favor of creating geographic diversity of Board members. Voting is by secret ballot; only the Election Chair(s)—who may not themselves be standing for election or currently serve on the Board—have access to individual voting records.

Candidates self-nominate, and must be Active* members of the Association in good standing.

After the close of the nomination period and verification of candidate eligibility, electronic voting is opened. Each active member can vote for as many candidates as there are open seats, but only once for any one candidate. Electronic voting is closed at least three days before the General Assembly. On-site voting is then opened briefly during the General Assembly for members present who have not yet cast their votes. When onsite voting is completed, votes are tallied by the Election Chair and a Board representative. Results are announced at the General Assembly. The transfer of responsibility from the old to the new Board takes place during the General Assembly.

*Honorary or Association membership status does not confer voting privileges, as per the Association Constitution.

Institutional Members



Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer